intense sadness

A weariness overcame me today
I could feel the tension in my shoulders again
My way home seemed to go in slow motion
because I could feel the intense sadness

It was freezing cold outside
but I would’ve stopped at the lil bridge
Close to home, separating the blocks
just to stand there for hours

Staring at the quiet creek
taking a turn in the green woods
Where the bare trees brush in the wind
in the shimmering moonlight

The back of my eyes were aching
the wind felt even colder against my cheeks
I could feel my tears stream down
it might as well flood the water below

Until I heard your voice
cheerful, without worries, happy
You lifted me up when I was down
your sweet innocence echoed through

It reminded me of my strength
that you give to me unknowingly
The power to keep going with firm tread
so you will know you were my fuel

One day you will know, my dear baby boy.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “intense sadness

  1. wordwand says:

    thanks for the poem.

Leave a Reply

