the long road home

The silence on the street is deafening
the darkness feels thick and sufficating
All I hear are the sounds of my shoes
stepping on the cold bare concrete

I make my way through the night
to a place that I used to call home
Which has become an empty house
no soul, no life, just bricks with doors

You are never there when I am
and secretly I hope you’re not
We should not even be there together
because we parted ways long before

We endure each other’s presence
never speaking a single word
We try our hardest to deny the existence
of each other, by all means possible

My feet reach the house closer and closer
but my heart refuses to be there
Unlocking the door with the key
I enter the darkness of the empty house

Everytime I close that front door
it reminds me of where we came from
Yet we decided to shut that entry
to our hearts and our relationship
alltogether.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

