open the gate

Clear the way, let me come through
Let me breathe in the fresh air
The excitement, the challenges ahead
Don’t ask of him, because I don’t care

I told myself this day would come
In patience I’ve waited for it to arrive
Leaving my excess luggage at the door
Can’t wait to take the wheel and drive

New faces, new destinations
I know there’s more to explore in the world
Tired of being too nice, too giving
It’s time to take and give back to the girl

The girl I never was, the woman I am
Growing up too soon, settled down too fast
Wiser than most would think
Yet nobody really knows about my past

I’m heading for the future now
I wanna travel and enrich my life
I’ll be a better person for me and my son
I’m sorry to say it’s not gon’ be as your wife

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “open the gate

  1. justdaphne says:

    One foot in front of the other.
    Good luck on your journey…

Leave a Reply

